Scope
Polar Science publishes research on the Arctic and Antarctic regions, including their atmospheres, oceans, cryosphere, geology, ecosystems, and human dimensions. The journal focuses on observational, experimental, and modeling studies of polar processes, climate variability, sea ice, glaciology, polar biology, and the role of high-latitude regions in the global Earth system.
What it costs to publish
Optional OA: USD 2,780
Elsevier offers a subscription route without an author publication fee, or paid open access. This list price applies only if you choose open access.
USD 2,780 · EUR 2,540 · GBP 2,230 · JPY 362,040
Elsevier offers a subscription route without an author publication fee, or paid open access. This list price applies only if you choose open access.
Prices effective 2026-10-05, excluding taxes. Page, length and other charges have not been separately reviewed.
EUR 295
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Charged to the authors beyond the one free print color figure.
Basis / unit: each additional color illustration in the print journal. Tax terms (source language): not stated on the color sentence
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Usable color figures appear in color online at no additional charge, whether or not they are printed in color.
Basis / unit: figure. Tax terms (source language): none
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Each accepted article qualifies for a maximum of one free color figure in print.
Basis / unit: first color figure in print. Tax terms (source language): not stated
CAPES · Elsevier (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Official policy checked 2026-10-12If you cannot pay the optional OA fee, consider the subscription route. It does not make the article freely accessible to all readers.
- Choose the publication routeSubscription and paid open access are different options.Publisher policy ↗
- Check institutional coverageAn eligible agreement may cover OA. Confirm the journal, institution, author and article type.Publisher policy ↗
- Read the hybrid-journal policyElsevier's APC waiver policy does not apply to hybrid journals. This is not a promised waiver.Publisher policy ↗
General Elsevier policy, checked live without an effective date. Check the journal instructions for other charges before submitting.