Scope
Physics of Fluids publishes research on the fundamental dynamics of gases, liquids, plasmas, and complex fluids, including turbulence, instabilities, multiphase flows, and rheology. The journal focuses on theoretical, computational, and experimental studies of fluid mechanics across regimes, from microfluidics and biological flows to compressible, reactive, and geophysical fluid systems.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 3,800
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,800
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Indexed charges page: Author Select fee of 3800 USD for perpetual free online access. Indicate the choice when submitting a new or revised manuscript. Figure is not re-read from live HTML.
Basis / unit: article author select. Tax terms (source language): not stated in the indexed extract
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Indexed text of the official charges page: AIP Publishing does not require page charges for Physics of Fluids. Hybrid Author Select journal. Direct live fetch returned a bot interstitial. Print ISSN 1070-6631 appears on the indexed About page. Online ISSN 1089-7666 from the bundle was not confirmed in retrieved text.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): not stated
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Indexed charges page: no color charges; online color is free; print journal is black and white. A surcharge exists for full-color author reprints, with no amount in the indexed text.
Basis / unit: online color and stated color charge. Tax terms (source language): not stated
Not established
Research notes (English): Direct fetch of https://pubs.aip.org/aip/pof/pages/charges and the About page returned a bot interstitial. The 3800 USD Author Select fee and the no page or color charge statements come from the indexed text of that official URL. No unfunded-author waiver was present in that extract. The color-reprint surcharge amount is absent. Online ISSN 1089-7666 was not confirmed.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.