Scope
Journal of Nuclear Science and Technology publishes research on reactor physics, nuclear fuel cycles, radiation transport, and the engineering of fission and fusion systems. The journal focuses on reactor design and safety, thermal hydraulics, materials behavior under irradiation, waste management, radiation detection, and applied nuclear technologies including medical and industrial uses.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 2,990
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 2,990
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): AESJ notice of 2025-11-27 says the publication charge when open access is selected remains 2990 USD. T&F describes Open Select and an APC without displaying this number; the APC finder was not retrieved. Whether the 500 USD subscription charge is added on top is not explicit.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the AESJ notice. T&F journal page does not display the tax treatment of this figure.
USD 500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): AESJ publication charge for submissions on or after 2026-01-01, flat regardless of page count. T&F states there is no APC when open access is not chosen. ISSN 0022-3131 and online 1881-1248.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the AESJ notice.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): AESJ post-publication guidance says a print color charge depends on the number of color figures and is added to the publication charge. For OA, Taylor & Francis invoices the APC and the color charge when color applies. No amount is published.
Basis / unit: color figure. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): Taylor & Francis APC waivers and discounts apply to full open access journals and do not apply to Open Select hybrid journals. No AESJ waiver of the 500 USD charge was found. Numeric color charge is absent. The T&F APC finder number was not retrieved, and stacking of 500 USD with 2990 USD is not explicit. Taxes are not stated.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.