Scope
Journal of Applied Physics publishes research on the physics underlying applied science and technology, spanning condensed matter, electronic and magnetic materials, photonics, plasmas, and energy conversion. The journal focuses on experimental, theoretical, and computational studies of device-relevant phenomena, including semiconductors, thin films, nanostructures, dielectrics, superconductors, and the physical principles supporting emerging technologies.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 3,800
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,800
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Author Select fee for free online access in perpetuity. Chosen at submission of a new or revised manuscript. A 2025 AIP flyer says Subscribe to Open made the journal OA in 2024 and would do so again in 2025; the current charges page still lists 3800 USD and does not state a 2026 S2O waiver.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid. AIP does not require page or color charges. Online color is free; print figures are black and white. Print ISSN 0021-8979; electronic ISSN 1089-7550.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): A surcharge exists for full-color author reprints. No amount is published on the charges page.
Basis / unit: reprint surcharge. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): No public Author Select waiver eligibility, timing, form, or coverage for an author without funds was found. Charge questions use the telephone numbers on the charges page: +1 800 344 6909 or +1 516 576 2270. Whether Subscribe to Open removes the 2026 author fee is not stated on the current charges page.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.