Scope
Publications of the Astronomical Society of Japan publishes research across observational and theoretical astronomy, astrophysics, and planetary science. The journal focuses on stellar and galactic astrophysics, the interstellar medium, high-energy and radio astronomy, solar physics, exoplanets, cosmology, and instrumentation including contributions from Japanese ground- and space-based facilities.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: JPY 365,757
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
JPY 365,757
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Standard open access charge for articles submitted after 1 Aug 2025. Member charge 292605 JPY for full ASJ members, with proof of eligibility. Invoice when the copyright licence is signed online. Replaces page charges.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the retrieved instructions text.
JPY 3,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Mandatory and payable in full when the proof is ready. Full ASJ members receive a 30% discount. Page charges are not applied to OA papers. Charge is set in yen; payer may select currency. ASJ FAQ: yen for a payer in Japan, US dollar in the US, UK pound elsewhere. ISSN-L 0004-6264; online 2053-051X.
Basis / unit: per typeset page. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the retrieved instructions text.
Not established
Research notes (English): Direct fetch of the OUP instructions page returned a bot interstitial. Figures come from the indexed text of that official URL, consistent across retrievals on 2026-10-12. OUP discretionary and Research4Life-style APC waivers are limited to fully open access journals, so they do not cover this hybrid title. No published waiver of the mandatory page charge for an author without funds.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.