Scope
Chemical Reviews is peer-reviewed scientific journal published twice per month by the American Chemical Society. It publishes review articles on all aspects of chemistry.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access (varies by conditions): USD 4,500
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 4,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Standard hybrid APC. Premium member discount 250 USD and All Publications subscriber discount 250 USD can be combined.
Basis / unit: article cc by immediate. Tax terms (source language): not stated on the pricing table
USD 4,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Standard hybrid APC for CC BY-NC-ND. Same member and subscriber discounts.
Basis / unit: article cc by nc nd immediate. Tax terms (source language): not stated on the pricing table
USD 2,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Optional 12-month embargo. The table shows a 2000 USD reduction from the immediate CC BY price.
Basis / unit: article cc by after 12 months. Tax terms (source language): not stated on the pricing table
USD 2,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Optional 12-month embargo under CC BY-NC-ND.
Basis / unit: article cc by nc nd after 12 months. Tax terms (source language): not stated on the pricing table
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): ACS hybrid. No charge if an open access option is not chosen. Print ISSN 0009-2665, web ISSN 1520-6890. Reviews are by invitation or accepted proposal.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): not applicable as stated for the non-OA route
USD 2,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Flat ADC due after acceptance for immediate sharing of the accepted manuscript in a hybrid journal when there is no institutional OA agreement and the version of record is not made immediate gold OA. Not a submission fee. Final published article stays on subscription access.
Basis / unit: article development charge. Tax terms (source language): not stated
CAPES · ACS (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: ACS country full waivers and discounts are described for fully open access journals, for submitting corresponding authors in the stated World Bank groups. Chemical Reviews is a hybrid journal. An author without funds can publish the subscription version with no author charge. No hybrid-APC hardship waiver for unfunded authors is stated on the pricing pages read. The zero-charge subscription choice is available instead of paying an OA APC. Country discounts that do apply to fully OA journals are automatic on acceptance. Do not select an open-access option. No public hardship form for this hybrid APC was found. Subscription publication. Immediate or embargoed Gold OA APCs, and the 2500 USD ADC if zero-embargo green OA is chosen. Country APC waivers as written do not extend to this hybrid title.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.