Scope
Doklady Earth Sciences publishes short research reports across Earth-science disciplines, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, oceanography, and atmospheric science. The journal focuses on rapid communications of new findings authored by members of the Russian Academy of Sciences and their collaborators.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 3,500
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Also 25000 CNY, or rubles at the Central Bank of Russia rate on the payment date plus 1 percent. Excess length is billed proportionally. Springer page does not print the price.
Basis / unit: article up to 15 final CRC pages. Tax terms (source language): Ruble payments add 1 percent to the central-bank rate. VAT not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Proportional increase and supplementary invoice. No unit price published.
Basis / unit: above 15 final CRC pages. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Online color free if technical requirements are met. Print color fee is individual and is excluded from the OA APC.
Basis / unit: print color illustration. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid. Traditional model: no charge to publish. ISSN print 1028-334X, online 1531-8354.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): None stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): Print color fee amount is not published.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: 50 percent only if agreed with the Editorial Board. After that agreement; OA application is after acceptance. Agreement with the Editorial Board; copy openaccess@pleiadesonline.com. Half of the OA APC if agreed. Remainder, and print color unless separately agreed.Publisher policy ↗
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: No public rule for authors without funds. A zero APC is recorded only if the editorial board says no APC will be taken. Subscription publication is already free. Post-acceptance OA application. Application to the editorial board, copy to openaccess@pleiadesonline.com. Manuscript office: earthsci@pleiadesonline.com. OA APC only when the board waives it. Print-color and other non-APC fees.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.