Scope
Environmental Science and Technology publishes research on the sources, transport, transformation, and fate of chemical and biological agents in air, water, soil, and engineered systems. The journal focuses on pollutant chemistry, environmental measurement techniques, treatment and remediation processes, exposure and risk assessment, and the interactions between human activities and natural environmental cycles.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access (varies by conditions): USD 4,500
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 4,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Standard hybrid immediate OA, CC BY 4.0. Optional USD 250 ACS Premium Package member discount and USD 250 All Publications subscriber discount; they can be combined.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the pricing tables page.
USD 4,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Standard hybrid immediate OA, CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Same member and subscriber discounts.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the pricing tables page.
USD 2,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Optional 12-month embargo OA, CC BY. USD 2000 below the immediate CC BY price.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the pricing tables page.
USD 2,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Optional 12-month embargo OA, CC BY-NC-ND.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the pricing tables page.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid journal. No charge if an open access option is not chosen.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): No charge on this route.
USD 2,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Article development charge. Due after acceptance. Applies only if the hybrid article is accepted, the institution has no OA agreement, and the author does not choose immediate gold OA of the version of record.
Basis / unit: accepted manuscript. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the ADC section.
Not established
Research notes (English): Country APC waivers and discounts on the ACS page are stated for fully open access journals, not for this hybrid title. No public email or form for a need-based hybrid APC waiver was found. Taxes are not stated on the pricing tables.
CAPES · ACS (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.