Scope
Physical Review D publishes research on particle physics, field theory, gravitation, and cosmology. The journal focuses on theoretical and experimental studies of elementary particles, the Standard Model and its extensions, dark matter and dark energy, general relativity and gravitational waves, early-universe cosmology, and high-energy astroparticle physics.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 2,910
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 2,910
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): 2026 gold OA APC. Set at submission to the journal of publication, including transfers. Not charged for editorials, comments and corrections, nor when covered by an institutional agreement or SCOAP3. Direct HTML fetch of journals.aps.org failed; figures are from the indexed official page.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the APC table.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): HEP papers posted to arXiv with primary category hep-ex, hep-th, hep-ph or hep-lat and published in PRD are OA CC-BY with APC paid by SCOAP3. Any affiliation or country. Arrangement through articles published in 2027. Participation since 2018-01-01.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): No author APC.
USD 1,090
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Online color is free. Print color is optional: 1090 USD for one figure and 595 USD for each additional figure. Request at submission. Full payment before production; otherwise color online only after 21 working days.
Basis / unit: first print color figure. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Submitting corresponding authors doing research in over 115 lower-income countries and territories. Not a general unfunded-author waiver. APS states it does not currently provide other discounts or waivers. The 20 percent PRPER reduction does not apply to PRD. Eligibility queries no later than article submission. Automatic offer described for eligible countries; queries by email. OA APC. Other discounts. Print-color charges are not stated as waived.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.