Scope
Atmospheric and Oceanic Optics publishes research on the propagation, scattering, and absorption of optical and infrared radiation in the atmosphere and ocean, along with the instruments that exploit these processes. The journal focuses on lidar and spectroscopy, aerosol and trace-gas remote sensing, turbulence and adaptive optics, ocean color, and laser-based monitoring of pollution and atmospheric composition.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 3,500
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Same Pleiades OA schedule: 25000 CNY or 3500 USD or ruble equivalent plus 1%. Application after acceptance.
Basis / unit: per article up to 15 final CRC pages. Tax terms (source language): Ruble option adds 1% to the exchange-rate conversion. Other tax not stated.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid. Traditional model: no charge to publish. Print ISSN 1024-8560; online ISSN 2070-0393.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Supplementary invoice; no numeric per-page rate.
Basis / unit: proportional above 15 final CRC pages. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Online color free. Print color quoted individually and excluded from the APC.
Basis / unit: individually quoted. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): Print color amount is not published. No public full waiver for authors without funds.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: 50% only with prior editorial-board agreement. Lack-of-funds eligibility is not published. After acceptance. Agreement with the editorial board; copy to openaccess@pleiadesonline.com. Half of the stated OA fee for the base length. Color and substantial revision fees. Excess-page treatment under the discount is not specified.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.