Scope
Journal of Medical Entomology publishes research on arthropods of medical and veterinary importance, including mosquitoes, ticks, fleas, and biting flies that transmit disease to humans and animals. The journal focuses on vector biology, ecology, control strategies, insecticide resistance, and the epidemiology of vector-borne pathogens such as malaria, arboviruses, and tick-borne agents.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access (varies by conditions): USD 3,780
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,780 · USD 4,726
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): ESA member open-access fee, a 20 percent discount from the non-member fee. Standard publication fee is not also charged. Not eligible for the ESA standard-publication waiver.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the ESA fee table.
USD 500 · USD 1,000
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Flat publication fee for ESA members, online-only, instead of page and color charges. Applies to papers submitted after 1 September 2025. Required for publication under the standard licence. Letters to the Editor, editorials, and student debates have no charge across ESA. Oxford University Press publishes the ESA journal.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): ESA fee table states prices in US dollars and does not state a tax rate.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: ESA member corresponding author who attests that no author has institutional, departmental, discretionary, or grant funds; that the authors are not eligible for a country waiver or Read and Publish; and that no other budget can pay the fee. One article per calendar year. Membership must stay active through the publication year. Subject to funds when the manuscript is accepted and enters production. Membership ID and attestation during submission. Funds are confirmed at acceptance/production. Joining ESA after acceptance can still obtain the member rate only if the editorial office was told at submission and before transfer to production. Attestation in submission, questions by email. 100 percent of the standard publication fee. Open-access fee.Publisher policy ↗
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Automatic waiver of the standard publication fee when the corresponding author is in a country on either OUP developing-countries list linked from the ESA fee page. Applied automatically. Automatic from the corresponding-author address. Standard publication fee. Open-access fee. OUP's own discretionary APC waivers are limited to fully open access journals.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.