Scope
Journal of the American Mosquito Control Association publishes research on mosquito biology, ecology, surveillance, and vector control. The journal focuses on applied entomology relevant to public health, including insecticide efficacy and resistance, larviciding and adulticiding methods, arbovirus epidemiology, mosquito-borne disease prevention, and operational practices used by mosquito abatement programs.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Other publication charges: USD 5
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): The journal is online open access. author_guidelines_2025.pdf states, with the wording 'As of 2018, Volume 33', USD 1000 for AMCA members and USD 1500 for non-members, including open access, line revisions, tables and illustrations. An AMCA contributors page stated 2022 Volume 39 charges of USD 525 members and USD 625 non-members. Those figures conflict, so no 2026 amount is adopted. Charge form: https://members.mosquito.org/ap/Form/Fill/rA7o3iyP. Billing: amca@mosquito.org.
Basis / unit: manuscript. Tax terms (source language): none stated
USD 5
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Stated in author_guidelines_2025.pdf. Printer errors are not charged. Artwork that must be remade to match the caption may be charged, with no amount.
Basis / unit: proof change not caused by the printer. Tax terms (source language): none stated
Not established
Research notes (English): Current manuscript charge is ambiguous: the 2025-named PDF still anchors USD 1000/1500 to 2018 Volume 33, while the AMCA contributors page (direct fetch later returned site maintenance) stated USD 525/625 for 2022 Volume 39. No published general full or partial waiver for authors without funds.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Published only for prospective review papers: authors are told to discuss with the editor the current policy on waiving page charges. No general unfunded-author eligibility, percentage, or covered charge list is published. When discussing a potential review paper, before the policy is confirmed with the editor. Email the JAMCA editor. The page refers to waiving of page charges for those review papers; the exact charges covered are not specified. Not specified. The manuscript-charge form is a billing form, not described as a waiver form.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.