Scope
IEEE Transactions on Geoscience and Remote Sensing publishes research on the theory, instrumentation, and applications of remote sensing of the Earth, oceans, atmosphere, and planets. The journal focuses on active and passive sensor systems including radar, lidar, and multispectral and hyperspectral imagers, alongside retrieval algorithms, calibration, data fusion, and machine learning methods for geophysical parameter estimation.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 2,800
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 2,800
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Chosen at submission; payable if accepted. Applies to articles submitted in 2026. IEEE member discount 5 percent; IEEE society member discount 20 percent; discounts cannot be combined and do not apply to undergraduate or graduate students. Overlength charges are separate.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the GRSS author page.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Traditional submission: no open-access payment. Article is available to subscribers and purchasers.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
USD 110
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Optional sustaining page charge requested for the first 11 printed pages, conditional on favorable technical review. Author is notified of estimated length on receipt of the manuscript.
Basis / unit: printed page. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
USD 230
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Mandatory overlength page charge beginning with page 11 for papers submitted after 2026-01-01. GRSS member price 200 USD per page. Papers submitted before 2026-01-01 incur overlength after 6 pages; that earlier per-page rate is not restated.
Basis / unit: printed page. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): IEEE Open states its low- and lower-middle-income APC waiver policy does not apply to hybrid journals, while the GRSS author page says corresponding authors from low-income countries are eligible for APC discounts and links that program. No APC waiver amount is recorded. Page 11 is described both as inside the optional 110 USD sustaining charge for the first 11 pages and as the start of the mandatory 230 USD overlength charge. Direct reopen of the IEEE Xplore issue page returned an account wall.
CAPES · IEEE (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: GRSS says OPC discounts may be offered to authors from low- or lower-middle-income countries and that further waiver details are available by email. The page does not publish a full eligibility test or a percentage. Author is told estimated length when the manuscript is received; charges are billed before publication. The page does not require the email to precede submission. Email Overlength and other page charges, as described by the editor in reply. The page does not state that the email waives the OA APC.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.