Scope
Instruments and Experimental Techniques publishes research on the design, construction, and operation of scientific instruments used in physics experiments, with emphasis on detectors, accelerators, vacuum and cryogenic systems, and electronics. The journal focuses on novel measurement methods, data acquisition hardware, and instrumentation for nuclear, plasma, atomic, and high-energy physics, including ground-based and space-borne sensors.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 3,500
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 3,500
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Same Pleiades OA tariff: 25000 CNY or 3500 USD, or rubles at the Central Bank of Russia rate on the payment date plus 1 percent, up to 15 final CRC pages.
Basis / unit: article up to 15 crc pages. Tax terms (source language): Tax not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Payment increases proportionally above 15 final CRC pages.
Basis / unit: page above 15 crc pages. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Amount not established
Amount not established. Research notes (English): Print color fee is set individually and is excluded from the APC.
Basis / unit: illustration. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Traditional model: no charge to publish. ISSN print 0020-4412, online 1608-3180.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): No author charge stated.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Online color is free if technical requirements are met.
Basis / unit: illustration. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): Print color amount is not published. Taxes and waiver criteria are not published.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: 50 percent when agreed with the editorial board. Criteria not published. After acceptance for the OA application; discount agreed with the board. Free-form application to the editorial board, copy to openaccess@pleiadesonline.com. OA APC. Color processing and substantial revision.Publisher policy ↗
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Editorial board may state that no APC will be taken. Criteria not published. Described in the post-acceptance OA instructions. Application to the editorial board with copy to openaccess@pleiadesonline.com. OA APC. Color processing and substantial revision.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.