Scope
IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement publishes research on the design, calibration, and application of measurement systems across electrical, optical, mechanical, and physical domains. The journal focuses on sensors, signal acquisition and processing, metrological methods, uncertainty analysis, and instrumentation for industrial, scientific, and biomedical applications.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 2,800
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 2,800
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): 2026 IEEE list, TIM, Hybrid. Member APC discounts do not combine with overlength charges.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the APC list line.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid. OA is optional. Print ISSN 0018-9456. Copyright line uses 1557-9662. Free length: 8 pages regular or special section, 3 pages short, 18 pages survey/review, in the IEEE double-column template.
Basis / unit: per article within the free page limit. Tax terms (source language): Not applicable inside the free length.
USD 265
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Mandatory. IMS-member rate at invoicing is 220 USD. Page count is set after IEEE editing. One financially responsible author is identified at submission.
Basis / unit: per page or fraction beyond the free limit. Tax terms (source language): Plus applicable taxes; rate not stated.
USD 1,275
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Repository Licensing Fee on the 2026 list. Optional and not required to publish.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
CAPES · IEEE (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Corresponding author in a World Bank low-income economy. Country classification only; it does not establish eligibility for a named person or funder. Applied to the overlength invoice. Published discount rule; the agreement does not describe a separate email or form. 100% of the mandatory overlength page charge. The OA APC. IEEE's APC waiver policy does not apply to hybrid journals. Overlength is otherwise not waived.Publisher policy ↗
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Corresponding author in a World Bank lower-middle-income economy. Discount is 25% to 50% based on that country's GDP. Applied to the overlength invoice. Published discount rule; no separate request form is described. Part of the mandatory overlength page charge. The OA APC and any author outside the stated country classes.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.