Scope
IEEE Sensors Journal publishes research on the theory, design, fabrication, and application of sensors and sensor systems across physical, chemical, and biological domains. The journal focuses on transducer technologies, signal conditioning, sensor arrays, calibration, embedded instrumentation, and applications in environmental monitoring, biomedical sensing, industrial control, and remote sensing.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 2,800
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 2,800
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Same figure on IEEE Xplore and on the 2026 APC list for JSEN, OA type Hybrid. IEEE member discounts of 5% or 20% apply to APCs and do not apply to overlength charges.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the journal APC line.
No charge reported for this route
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Hybrid. IEEE Xplore: no cost to publish except optional fee-based offerings such as OA. Print ISSN 1530-437X on an IEEE masthead.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated for the zero subscription route.
USD 175
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): 2026 list shows 175 USD and a page-allowance value of 12. Which manuscript types that 12 covers is not unambiguous in the extracted table. An older Sensors Council author page described 8 pages for regular papers and 12 for reviews.
Basis / unit: per page beyond the free allowance. Tax terms (source language): Not stated on the 2026 list line.
USD 1,275
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Repository Licensing Fee on the 2026 list. It is an optional compliance route, not a charge required to publish.
Basis / unit: per article. Tax terms (source language): Not stated.
Not established
Research notes (English): IEEE states that its OA waiver policy does not apply to hybrid journals. Free-page threshold for the 175 USD overlength charge is ambiguous between the 2026 list and the older Sensors Council guide. Voluntary 110 USD per page on that older guide is not confirmed by the current Xplore statement that publishing has no cost.
CAPES · IEEE (Brazil)
An agreement exists. It is not automatic coverage.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- No waiver procedure establishedNo journal-specific waiver procedure was established in this research. Check the official author information; do not assume a free route.Official information ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.