Scope
Weather and Forecasting publishes research on the science and practice of weather prediction across short-range, mesoscale, and synoptic timescales. The journal focuses on numerical weather prediction, ensemble methods, verification statistics, severe weather diagnostics, hurricane and tropical cyclone forecasting, and operational applications that bridge atmospheric research and forecast centers.
What it costs to publish
Reported: Optional open access: USD 1,300
Charges differ by publication route. Subscription is not open access; the APC does not include every possible extra charge.
USD 1,300
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): Makes the Early Online Release and final paper immediately free to read. Requested at submission or on the page-charge form after acceptance. Added to the page charges.
Basis / unit: article. Tax terms (source language): not stated
USD 120
Source-linked report, not independently confirmed. Research notes (English): WAF is in the hybrid group JAMC, JAS, JCLI, JHM, JPO, JTECH, MWR, WAF. Comment and Reply correspondence: no charge. Full text is free 12 months after publication. ISSN 0882-8156; eISSN 1520-0434.
Basis / unit: typeset page. Tax terms (source language): not stated
Not established
Research notes (English): Extra charges for excessive proof edits, multiple figure files, and rekeying are named without prices. Taxes are not stated.
No agreement found
None of the agreements we track covers this journal.
Check before submitting: eligibility depends on your institution, the corresponding author and the article type.
APC, page charges, over-length, S2O: what each one means
- APC
- Article processing charge: a fee per article to publish it open access. It is not the whole cost.
- Page charges
- A fee per printed or typeset page. It can apply with or without an APC.
- Over-length
- Pages beyond a length limit, billed at a different rate. Each page pays one rate, never both.
- S2O
- Subscribe to Open: subscribers keep the journal free to read, decided year by year. Page charges can still apply.
- Agreement
- A deal between an institution or country and a publisher that may cover the APC. Never automatic.
No funds to pay?
Research checked: 2026-10-13Waivers and funding: eligibility is not guaranteed.
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Genuine lack of funds for page charges. Limited budget. Initial submission. Decision within 5 business days after the submission requirements check. Late requests need a signed letter from the department head or funding-agency administrator. Email. Part of the page charges. The USD 1300 Open Choice fee.Publisher policy ↗
- Source-linked policyResearch notes (English), not independently confirmed: Authors who cannot pay any page charges. Same 12-month limits as other AMS journals. Supporting institutional or funder letter required. Initial submission, before peer review. Committee review up to about three months. Policy text last updated 2025-02-10. Full Waiver Application form by email. Page charges. Open Choice fee.Publisher policy ↗
Read the publisher terms before submitting. Source-linked research is not a personal quotation or confirmed eligibility.